Vegetarian Foods That Surprisingly Aren’t

Vegetarian Foods That Surprisingly Aren’t

This article is one of the most important articles Vegan Protein Power has ever published, the information in this article will include foods that you would never have think of a connection to the suffering and death of an animals

Most of the foods listed below have a common occurring theme to them, I hope this article encourages vegetarians and vegans to be more proactive to read the ingredient on the everyday products that you buy and consume, this is not exclusive to just food, but also beauty products and clothing

Gelatin | Products That Contain Gelatin  

How Is Made & What Is Gelatin?

Gelatin is a protein obtained by boiling skin, tendons, ligaments, and/or bones with water. It is usually obtained from domesticated cattle, chicken, pigs, and fish. Gelatin is used in foods for baking purposes and beauty products like shampoos and face masks

– Jelly Filled Sweats

– Kellogg’s Pop Tarts

– Some Breakfast Cereals

– Cadburys Yogurts

– Kellogg’s Frosted Wheat

– Marshmallows

– Cheese Cake

These are just a few listed but I encourage you to be more vigilant when it comes to reading the label on the foods that you assume that are vegan or vegetarian. You never know until you have a closer look at the ingredients label

Lard | Product That Contain Animal Fats

Animal fats are traditionally used to add flavour to food, they are often on products that are flavoured to an animal’s meat, for instance pork flavored potato chips

– BBQ Potato Chips

– Refried Mexican Beans

– Mexican Flavoured Rice

– Mexican Tortillas Chips

– Fast Food Fries

– Chicken, Beef Broth/Based Soups

Rennet | Product That Contain Rennet

Rennet is an animal enzyme derived from the stomachs of calves, lambs or goats before they consume anything but milk

– Most Cheeses

– Cheese Cake

– Pesto

Many cheeses are made with rennet, an enzyme derived from calf stomachs. Traditional Parmesan cheese, for example, always has rennet. Most British cheeses do, too. (U.S. cheesemakers often use cheaper alternatives.)

To complicate things, brands aren’t obligated to state whether or not they use the Rennet enzyme. Pesto contains pine nuts, basil, and olive oil and parmesan cheese, all contains the Rennet enzyme

Fish | Product That Contain Fish

– Cesar Salad – Anchovies

– Beer & Wine – Processing ingredient Contains Isinglass Which Is Fish Bladder

– Omega Fats Vitamin Supplements

– Calcium Supplements May Contain Cow’s Milk

Carmine | Product That Contain Carmine

Carmine origines from grounded up beatles, the red from the ground up beetles, keep your eyes peeled for “Natural Red #4” on the label of these products

– Gummy Bears

– M&M’s

– Chewits

– Vivid Red Coloured Sweets

Animal Bone | Foods That Contain Animal Bone In The Processing

Refined white sugar is bleached in a process that entails running the sugar through “bone char” or “charred cattle bones”. Confectioner’s and brown sugar can also be culprits, as they are variations of white sugar. Stick to organic cane or turbinado sugar

– White & Brown Sugar

 

Other Non Vegetarian Product

Vanilla Ice Cream

The “natural flavor” you see listed on your favorite vanilla ice cream may actually come from a beaver’s rear end. Castoreum is the technical term for the all-natural ingredient—a fragrant, brown slime that beavers use to mark their territory, and food scientists use to give products a musky, vanilla scent

The FDA has ruled that because there’s no harm in eating castoreum, food manufacturers are not required to list it in the ingredients. Your best bet is to stick to vegan-approved ice creams

Orange Juice

In order to market orange juice healthier, manufacturers add in omega-3s fats to add another health benefit to sell however these omega-3s fats are sourced from anchovies, tilapia, and sardines. Not all orange juices contain omega-3s fats however be careful and always read the label

Also, vitamin D in some fortified juices comes from lanolin, a waxy substance derived from sheep’s wool. Coca-Cola juices contain lanolin-derived vitamin D that come from sheep’s wool

Non Organic Bananas

Non organic bananas have Chitosan sprayed onto them to preservate their shelf life, Chitosan is a bacteria-fighting compound derived from shrimp and crab shells. Watch for new warning labels that read: “This product may contain shellfish by-products” Or buy organic

Bread & Bagels (Cysteine Ingredient)

Many processed bagels and bread related products contain the enzyme L. Cysteine, a “dough conditioner” sourced from duck and chicken feathers. Einstein Bros. and Dunkin Donuts have both confirmed using L. Cysteine in all of their bagels. Poultry feathers also make an appearance in the garlic bread at Pizza Hut and in Mcdonalds cinnamon rolls and apple pies

Hard Coated Candy

Most candy coatings are made from shellac, a resin secreted from the rear end of the female lac bug. Shellac, also known as “confectioner’s glaze”, is made from a resin excreted by the female lac beetle, indigenous to India and Thailand. The resin is processed into flakes, dissolved in denatured alcohol to make liquid shellac, and then sprayed on food products or used to make lacquer for hardwood floors and furniture

Beer & Wine

Brands of beer and wine, particularly those made in Britain, are clarified using isinglass, a gelatin from the air bladder of certain freshwater fish. (Guinness is a specific example that uses isinglass.)

Packed Salted Peanuts

Some packets of peanuts use gelatin as an additive to help salt and other spices adhere to the peanuts. Gelatin is derived from the collagen in cow or pig bones, hooves, and connective tissues, Always buy plain peanuts in the shell

BBQ Potato Chips

Many potato chips especially barbecue flavor potato chips contain animal fat to add to the flavouring of the potato chips. Pork, chicken and beef are commonly used

Cake Mix

The majority of cake mixtures contain Gelatin and animal fats, animal fats are labeled as “Lard” on the ingredient label. Pork fat or lard finds its way into the dry ingredients of boxed cake mixes. Simply check the label for “Lard” and “Gelatin

Lucky Charms

Those marshmallow moons, clovers and horseshoes are made with gelatin, derived from animal bones, hooves, and connective tissues. Also containing gelatin: Smorz, Fruity Marshmallow Krispies, and Rich Krispies Treats Squares

All Things Jelly

All jellies products contain naturally contain Gelatin, jelly sweets, jelly desserts, remember all things jelly contain are derived from animal bones, hooves, and connective tissues. If you are making a jelly desserts, buy the gluten free version jelly and you’ll be fine

Worcestershire Sauce

Many varieties are made with anchovies, along with malt vinegar, molasses, sugar, and spices. Certain brands even list the fish on their labels

Vegetable Soup

Store-bought soups frequently use chicken or beef stock as a base, even if they’re called simply “vegetable soup” Watch out for split pea soups as well, which frequently use ham in the cooking process

Close Menu